REM climate study by Luc Gagnon and Jean-François Lefebvre

Posted on: Sat, Jun 30,2018 - 13:58 By: admin

A year ago, following a shortened process, the BAPE concluded that CDPQ Infra had not provided the documents required to obtain approval. Several other bodies, including the direction régionale de la protection de la santé publique de Montréal, the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks and Ministry of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Electrification issued similar opinions noting that the proponent's impact study was either incomplete, out of order or unsatisfactory. In the majority, if not all cases, the questions remained unanswered. Despite this, the government rushes forward with a project that will forever transform the transportation network in common of the metropolitan area.

With this in mind, the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) and the Montreal Climate Coalition have funded a detailed analysis responds to many of the questions requested by the above-mentioned bodies. This analysis is similar to the "climate test", as prescribed by the new Environment Quality Act, adopted in March 2018. The REM is a first major infrastructure project where the government could have implemented its "flagship law". But since the government will not do so, CUPE and the Montreal Climate Coalition decided to do it.

This rigorous study of greenhouse gas emissions, modal shift, the impact on current public network, pricing, among other considerations, leads us to an obvious conclusion: for the health of the environment, the public and the transit system, the REM must be canceled.

Click here to read the full report by Luc Gagnon PhD, and Jean-François Lefebvre PhD (French, PDF)

Tags

Étude climat sur le REM par Luc Gagnon et Jean-François Lefebvre

Posted on: Sat, 30 Jun 2018 - 14:10 By: jc

Il y a un an, à la suite d'un processus écourté, le BAPE a conclu que CDPQ Infra n'avait pas fourni les documents requis afin d'obtenir son aval. Plusieurs autres instances, incluant la direction régionale de la protection de la santé publique à Montréal, le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs et le ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l'Électrification ont émis des avis similaires soulignant que l'étude d'impact du promoteur était soit incomplète, irrecevable ou insatisfaisante. Dans la majorité, sinon la totalité des cas, les questions sont restées sans réponse. Malgré cela, le gouvernement fonce à toute vitesse avec un projet qui transformera à jamais le réseau de transport en commun de la région métropolitaine.

Dans cette optique, le SCFP et la Coalition climat Montréal ont financé une analyse détaillée qui permet de répondre à une grande partie des questions demandées par les instances susmentionnées. Cette analyse ressemble au «test climat», comme il est prescrit par la nouvelle Loi sur la qualité de l'environnement, adopté en mars 2018. Le REM est un premier grand projet d'infrastructure où le gouvernement aurait pu mettre en oeuvre sa « loi phare ». Mais puisque le gouvernement ne le fera pas, le SCFP et la Coalition climat Montréal ont décidé de le faire.

Cette étude rigoureuse des émissions des gaz à effet de serre, du transfert modal, de l'impact sur le réseau public actuel, de la tarification, parmi d'autres considérations, nous conduit à une évidence claire : pour la santé de l'environnement, du public et du réseau de transport en commun, le REM doit être annulé.

Cliquez ici pour lire le rapport complet de Luc Gagnon PhD, et Jean-François Lefebvre PhD (PDF)

Tags